Happy all the Time

Pappaw with grandson, Luke

There’s not much that is more wonderful than the sound of a child having a deliriously, joyful time – or what I’d call a bubbling, bubbling, bubbling good time.  The laughter is delicious, and infectious. I love watching my grandchildren wrestle with their Papaw and try to get the best of him.  All come away having had a wonderful time, and desiring more.  What sheer delight to hear the laughter ring out. 

         I need that spirit of joy to reside in my heart, ready to be released as unreservedly as that of a child.  Teach me, Lord that I can be “in right, outright, upright, downright, happy all the time,” even in times of trial and stress.  I think Nehemiah said it best, “For the joy of the Lord is my strength” (Nehemiah 8:10).

Leave a Reply

