July 25 Stand Firm

            In October 1991 I was working as a temp in an office downtown, Louisville.  My life was hectic and I began to let my personal spiritual growth stagnate.  This was a good experience for me to be in a place of employment outside my norm of church work.  When I was involved in my daily church ministry activities, surrounded by Christians, exclusively surrounded by those who knew and loved the Lord I loved, I discovered that though my personal growth was stagnate, I could maintain spiritual nourishment from the environment of other believers.  However, when placed in the secular environment where the majority of the people I was dealing with did not have a relationship with Christ, my mind became a battlefield in maintaining my spiritual equilibrium. 
                I was reminded of this recently when standing in the surf at Crescent Beach,Florida.  I stood perfectly still, my feet firmly planted in about three inches of water.  Each little wave that rolled gently around my feet displaced just a little sand – not evenly redistributed, but randomly.  Had I not repositioned my feet, I would have lost my balance and gone down into the water.
                I believe this is what Paul was teaching us in Ephesians 6 when he admonishes us to put on all the armor of God. “Put on the whole armor of God that ye may be able to stand against the wiles of the devil. For we wrestle not against flesh and blood, but against principalities, against powers, against the rulers of the darkness of this world, against spiritual wickedness in high places. Wherefore take unto you the whole armor of God that ye may be able to withstand in the evil day, and having done all, to stand.”
                  In 1834 when Edward Mote pinned the words of “My Hope is Built,” he had no idea how, when William Bradbury set it to music in 1863, it would become a hymn of such consequence as to comfort, and call Christians through history, to stand firm.

My hope is built on nothing less
Than Jesus’ blood and righteousness
I dare not trust the sweetest frame
But wholly lean on Jesus’ name.

On Christ, the solid Rock, I stand
All other ground is sinking sand;
All other ground is sinking sand.

          Next time I sing this hymn at church, I believe I will see the words more vividly, and sing the song from experience and adoration.  On Christ the solid rock I stand, all other ground is sinking sand. Lord, help me to daily set aside a time just for you.  Help me to reposition my feet each day as I learn more about who You are, and for what You are doing in  my life.

Leave a Reply

