July 24 I Know Him

I first met Him when I was a tiny child.  My parents pointed to all the things around me and credited them to Him. 
I explored, I touched, I tasted, I discovered.  I loved Him even at the tender age of four. 
I called Him God. (Psalm 19) 

The years passed and I grew to better understand His great love for me.
I was seven-years-old, and kneeling beside my mother in the home of my grandmother,
I called Him Savior. (Acts 16:31) 

More years passed and I was a lonely sixteen-year old.  It seemed that I wanted to “fit” in a crowd that didn’t love Him.
My greatest desire was to walk with Him, even if it meant walking alone.
                                            I called Him Friend. (John 15:10-14) 

When at nineteen, I wanted to know the right decision for choosing my life-long companion. 
I knew His blessings were upon my marriage plans.
I called Him Guide. (Proverbs 3:5-6) 

When at twenty-three our first child was born,
I wanted to show her how to discover purpose and direction in her life.
I called Him Teacher. (Psalm 143:10) 

When at twenty-nine my back and legs betrayed me, and I found it almost impossible to walk,
I sought His touch to bring strength and restoration to my body,
I called Him Healer. (Psalm 147:3)

And now all these sixty years later when I have experienced tumultuous times, inconsolable grief, and loneliness,
I’ve thought back across all the years of my life to the many ways I’ve known God.
I remember the lonely night watches where He came to me in the quietness. He’s always been there.
I call Him Comforter. (John 14:16-18)

He is my God, my Savior, my Friend, my Guide, my Teacher, my Healer, and my Comforter.

He is truly my All-in-All. (Psalm 71:1-23)

   

Leave a Reply

